DatastormUsers Home
DatastormUsers HomeArticles and DownloadsPlot your location on the DatastormUsers MapLook up terms in the GlossaryInformation on past and upcoming ralliesList of people attending the next rallyMember photosSupport the cost of running DatastormUsers
Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search

faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Datastorm Users Forum » General Interest Forums » DirecTV/Dish » DNS "Hanky Panky"?

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: DNS "Hanky Panky"?
lwrver
Member
Member # 1841

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lwrver   Email lwrver   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I just had a very interesting experience! I went to the Dish Network web page, and there is a link there that says "Distant Network Subscribers click here". I clicked on it, and it has a lot of information regarding the loss of DNS coverage, but near the bottom of the page it says to call 1-888-333-DISH or go to channel 240 for more information. I tried to access channel 240, but was unable to do so. I then called the 1-888 number, and after making a complete fool of myself, I found out that it is the number of a DirecTV provider. The real number for DishNet is 1-800-333-DISH(3474). Isn't it a coincidence that a DirecTV provider has the same exact phone number as DishNet,(Except for the area code, which just happens to be on a DishNet URL? I'm trying to give Dish a chance to redeem themselves, but now I don't know who to trust. I suspect DTV may also be guilty of some "Hanky Panky" here. I tried to contact DishNet Customer Service, but was suddenly disconected after being on hold for 14 minutes.

--------------------
2000 Dutch Star DP, towing 2008 Honda CRV; HN7000s, SatMex5:970

Posts: 46 | From: Texas | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
DonB
Administrator
Member # 1

Icon 1 posted      Profile for DonB   Author's Homepage   Email DonB   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
There have always been a number of sites that try to look like they are Dish, or DirecTV, or for that matter, Direcway, but actually belong to dealers. It is unknown if the companies condone them, or if not, could do much about them.

You said you went to the Dish Network page - can you tell us what exact URL you went to?

--------------------
Don Bradner
2004 Blue Bird M380
See our current location

Posts: 11197 | From: Eureka, CA | Registered: May 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
lwrver
Member
Member # 1841

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lwrver   Email lwrver   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
The URL of the Dish network site that has the erroneous phone number is as follows. It is near the bottom of the page. I tried to attach a screen print, but could not figure out how to do so. I sent you an email with the screen print also.

http://www.dishnetwork.com/content/aboutus/presskit/savemychannels/index.shtml

--------------------
2000 Dutch Star DP, towing 2008 Honda CRV; HN7000s, SatMex5:970

Posts: 46 | From: Texas | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
DonB
Administrator
Member # 1

Icon 1 posted      Profile for DonB   Author's Homepage   Email DonB   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Unless there's a typo in your first post, that page has the correct phone number of (800) 333-DISH.

I didn't get your e-mail, probably in some format that my mail server would not allow.

--------------------
Don Bradner
2004 Blue Bird M380
See our current location

Posts: 11197 | From: Eureka, CA | Registered: May 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
lwrver
Member
Member # 1841

Icon 1 posted      Profile for lwrver   Email lwrver   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Yep, I told them about the error earlier when I talked to them, and they sounded kind of embarrassed, and said they'd take care of it. Guess they did, before you checked it. The guy I talked to wondered if maybe they might have a DTV spy amongst them. Wouldn't surprise me. Anyway, it amused me after I got over my embarrassment from calling the number. The screen print was in html, and I guess your server doesn't accept this format.

--------------------
2000 Dutch Star DP, towing 2008 Honda CRV; HN7000s, SatMex5:970

Posts: 46 | From: Texas | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Bill Adams
Member
Member # 24

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Bill Adams   Author's Homepage   Email Bill Adams   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
It was no typo, I went to the link earlier and it was showing an 888 number. Hard to believe that someone at the other end of a customer's phone call was able to get someone to change that number.

--------------------
Bill Adams
Winegard Company

Posts: 15677 | From: Traveling the Western US | Registered: May 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

Quick Reply
Message:

HTML is not enabled.
UBB Code™ is enabled.

Instant Graemlins
   


Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


E-Mail DonB | DatastormUsers.com | Forum hosting courtesy of Arcata Pet Supplies

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.0